Pumpkin Chili

I made this for my husband Halloween night. It was a little spicy to me and so we added another can of pumpkin, and that helped. 🙂 I hope you enjoy this bowl of fall! Based on this recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded & minced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 TBSP chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cans of pumpkin puree
  • 1  can black beans, rinsed & drained

Directions:

  1. Soup pot over medium-high heat. Add ground beef, onions, and bell peppers. Cook, breaking up meat, until meat is browned. Drain and return to pot.
  2. Add jalapenos, garlic, chili powder, cumin, and paprika. Stir for a few minutes until fragrant, and add diced tomatoes & juices, chicken broth, and pumpkin. Stir well and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and let simmer for about 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Stir in black beans

I also served the chili with corn bread. I take 2 boxes of Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix and 1 box of Yellow Cake mix and combine them. I follow the instructions on each of the boxes pour the batter in a large cake pan and cook at 350 until golden. It is heavenly.

My picture didn’t make dinner look as appetizing as it was…so, we will omit the picture. Enjoy this picture of our Halloween pumpkin.

218

 

Leave a comment